Big names for Power series season finale

Jurie Swart, car 39, will start as one of the favourites in the Burly Pro GTi Challenge one-hour endurance race with Colin Meder expected to mount a challenge to the leading pack.

Some of the top names in local motorsport are among the entries for the one-hour Burly Pro GTi Challenge Enduro, the headline event at the ninth and final round of the 2019 Power Series at Killarney International Raceway on Saturday November 30.

They include Polo Cup contender Jurie Swart and E36 Cup Rallycross star Zack Groenewald, who will be sharing the Alpine Autohaus Polo, as well as top Mike’s Place Clubmans driver Colin Meder, partnered with former GTi Challenge stalwart Andrew Goslett in the International Tube Technologies Polo 6R.

A strong entry of 39 cars for the Millstock Cars Pre 1980 and 1990 Cars & Shatterfix Fine Cars ensures close and probably robust racing, with Richard Quixley starting as favourite in Charles Arton’s quick Datsun 240Z.

A combined total of 27 entries for the V8 Masters and Makita Supercars promises more doorhandle-bashing action, especially from arch-rivals Marcel Angel and Fabio Tafani.

This weekend’s headline motorcycle category, the RST Trac Mac Clubmans, is likely to come down to a straight fight between hotshot rookie Lubabalo Ntisana (LB Autos ZX-10R) and veteran Wayne Arendse (JJ Smith Trust ZX-10R), but will also feature a dark horse in the shape of Chris Williams, back on the Trac-Mac Ducti Panigale after a long lay-off.

They’ll be contesting the podium positions with up-and-coming riders Willem Binedell (Dog Box ZX-10R) and Shaun Mackrill (GFP Lighting ZX-10R).

There will also be demonstration races featuring a mixed bag of Clubmans and E36 Cup racers, each one carrying a passenger – the winners of an online competition.

Gates open at 7.30am and racing begins at 10am. Tickets are sold at Computicket and will also be available at the gate at R80 for adults, R20 for pupils under-16 and children under 12 enter free.